Adding to our family…

Something amazing has happened. Something out of the blue, not planned, and not expected. Something that makes me nervous, excited, anxious, happy, sad and a mixture of 100 other emotions…

a2af2eb7c6e693681bf7f22f6a69fd13

On Saturday, January 23rd around 10:30am, I received a phone call that altered my thought process and state of mind forever. There is a baby due in May. Not just any baby, Harper’s birth sibling. (I am not going to mention any further details regarding the baby’s story as to respect that their birth story is just that, theirs to share if they wish. It is not my story to tell.) Needless to say, hearing that this child would soon exist and that it needed a home set my mind and my emotions on overdrive. After much thinking and talking, we decided there was no way that we could say no to parenting this child. Do we have the money to adopt again, no we do not. Are some things in life bigger than money, yes they are.

Since this day, life has gone on as usual, but not one hour goes by that I do not think about this baby and wonder so many things….is he/she healthy, is the birthmother doing ok, is this child a girl or boy, what is the expected due date, how are we going to come up with the money for this adoption, will I hear from my social worker today, how do people wait for babies to arrive as that was not how this happened the first time, and on and on. The questions and thoughts are endless. The worry that one has for their children has already started and I have yet to meet this little one.

8c8e9d2e136edfc9a5f2afc7e499dd2d

Harper…he is excited to be a big brother. As you all know, this child is my love and my life. He is the most amazing being in the world to me. (besides Jason of course 🙂 How could I love another child the way that I love him. OR How could I not love another child the way I love him. I am sure every mother feels this way when adding a new child to the family, but I know this will all work itself out and is happening for a reason. Harper is so smart and has such a huge heart that he is going to be a great big brother. I am sure they will have their differences, but ultimately, I feel blessed that Harper and our new baby will have one another to rely on and to count on when no one else can understand what it means to be in their situations besides themselves. They will have one another and that bond can never be broken.

Family-Quotes-05

I will keep you all posted as I learn more and we welcome our son or daughter sometime in May. Thank you for listening and loving our family! We have set up a Gofundme account for our adoption. Please pass along our fundraiser if you feel so compelled. 🙂 Adoption Go Fund Me

 

2 thoughts on “Adding to our family…

  1. Mandi & Jason! I am so happy for both of you and Harper for being able to add to your family in this way. There are so many thoughts that run through your head as you wait for your baby’s arrival and your world changes yet again when the baby makes its way into your lives. You most certainly will have plenty of love for the baby and your family will likely feel complete…after the first 3 months or so have passed. Remember those all-nighters? It might be a bit worse because Harper may wake and both of you will have to take a child and get them back to sleep. But every second of frazzled nerves and the rollercoaster of emotions that comes along with the crazy ride you are on is worth it. I know you know that. If you need anything “baby” please let me know. I am looking to pass some things along. Congratulations!

    • Jessica,

      Thank you so much for your kind words. You always have been full of love and wisdom.
      Yes! I have nothing baby any longer, so if you are looking to rid yourself of baby things, I’m your gal. 😉

Leave a Reply

