Feeling lucky

unnamed

As I look at this blank page, I have such a variety of thoughts regarding Harper running through my mind all at once…

How has time flown so quickly that he is going to be 3 years old in November?

He is so smart and has an amazing vocabulary that I at times forget that he is only 2 1/2. We have conversations like he is a 5 year old as he is just so insightful and perceptive.

How have I gotten so lucky to be able to call this amazing person my son. He makes me so happy, stressed, sad, excited, and so in love that I cannot believe it is actually reality at times.

How am I going to make sure I am guiding him in the best way possible to be a great person who sees diversity as a gift and understands that not everyone else sees it as such?

How do I keep him safe in a world that does not view people of color as equals?

Overall though, time is the ruler here. Time will pass and life will go on and all of these thoughts, hopes, worries, and concerns will come and go, ebb and flow. That is just how the world works. I will make mistakes and I will do the best by my child. That is really all I can ask for and expect to be true. I will always be his greatest ally and biggest fan and I will ALWAYS remind him every day just how much he is loved and how lucky I am to be his mom.

Leave a Reply

